Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

​RIBA Board and committees

RIBA Board

The RIBA Board oversees the operations of the RIBA, as well as the RIBA's main committees with the exception of the Audit Committee, Nominations Committee and Membership Admissions Committee which report to Council.

RIBA Board members

  • Alan Jones (Chair)
  • John Assael
  • Joanna Bacon
  • Wendy Charlton
  • Ben Derbyshire
  • Rob Dickins
  • Ruth MacIntosh
  • Valeria Passetti
  • Kerr Robertson
  • Helen Taylor
  • Pierre Wassenaar
  • Nicky Watson


Seven main committees and a number of sub-committees develop and advise on policies and activities of the Institute. All main committees report to the RIBA Board, with the exception of the Audit Committee, Nominations Committee and Membership Admissions Committee which report to Council.

The committees advise on the formulation of policy and strategy relevant for their areas, recommending priorities for the business plan and budget (both income and expenditure).

They also review the implementation of Council policies and the progress of work against agreed objectives. They appoint task groups and specialist advisers for relevant projects and subjects.

Audit and Oversight Committee

  • Simone de Gale (Chair)
  • Ruth McIntosh
  • Pierre Wassenaar
  • George Oldham

British Architectural Trust Board

  • Rob Dickins (Chair)
  • Joanna Bacon
  • Kerr Robertson
  • Shankari Edgar
  • Jonathan Falkingham
  • Timothy Hornsby
  • Suzi Winstanley
  • Gillian Wolfe

Education Committee

  • Nicky Watson, VP Education (Chair)
  • Maryam Al-Irhyaim
  • Rob Hyde
  • David Howarth
  • Paul Jones
  • Lewis North
  • Kevin Singh
  • Bernadette Donohoe
  • Christina Godiksen
  • Yemi Aladerun
  • Bob Brown (corresponding)

Finance and Operations Committee

  • John Assael, Honorary Treasurer (Chair)
  • Richard Whitbread
  • Mark Percival
  • Chris Hampson
  • Mark Kemp

International Committee

  • Joanna Bacon, VP International (Chair)
  • Alice Asafu-Adjaye, International Council member – Middle East and Africa Region
  • Ulrike Bega
  • Adam Blacker
  • Catherine Davis, International Council member – Americas Region
  • Sean Hatcher
  • Martin Knight
  • Diba Salam
  • Elsie Owusu
  • Roger Wu, International Council member – Asia and Australasia Region
  • Tim Clark, International Council members – Europe Region

Membership Committee

  • Valeria Passetti, VP Membership (Chair ex-officio)
  • Victoria Adegoke
  • Gerard Bareham
  • Alia Beyg
  • Paul Crowe
  • Ewen Miller
  • Ian Standen (corresponding)
  • Alice Asafu-Adjaye (Middle East & Africa)
  • Tim Clark (Europe)
  • Catherine Davis (Americas)
  • Roger Tsan-Sum Wu (Asia and Australasia)

Nations and Regions Committee

  • Valeria Passetti, VP Membership (Chair)
  • Dan Brown (Yorkshire)
  • Tom Bell (Wessex)
  • Nick Deeming (North East)
  • Tom Foggin (East)
  • Jonathan Fox (South East)
  • Rachel Gaunt (South West)
  • Barbara Griffin (East Midlands)
  • Lisa McFarlane (North West)
  • Mark Shipton (South)
  • Ryan Stuckey (President RSAW)
  • Philip Twiss (West Midlands)

Practice and Profession Committee

The Practice and Profession Committee provides leadership and support for members and practices on professional issues by overseeing the completion of the RIBA’s strategic objectives in relation to the practice of architecture. It comprises, mostly, of chairs of RIBA Expert Advisory Groups.

Members of the RIBA Expert Advisory Groups use their expertise to inform RIBA responses to consultations, proactive campaigns as well as products and guidance to support the profession.

  • Wendy Charlton VP Practice and Profession, (Chair)
  • Dieter Bentley-Gockmann, Chair of Regulations and Standards Group
  • Mark Benzie, Professional Conduct Liaison
  • Gary Clark, Chair of Sustainable Futures Group
  • Lanre Gbolade, Council
  • John Hickey, Chair of CPD Group
  • Peter Jackson, Chair of Large Practice Group
  • Barbara Kaucky, Chair of Small Practice Group
  • Femi Oresanya, Interim Chair, Architects for Change
  • Nigel Ostime, Chair of Client Liaison Group
  • Fiona Raley, Chair of Conservation Group
  • Dhruv Sookhoo – Interim Chair, Housing Group
  • Philip Waddy, Chair of Planning Group, Council

keyboard_arrow_up To top