IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

​​RIBA Annie Spink Award

The RIBA has presented the Annie Spink Award biennially since 2000 to an individual who has made a significant contribution to education in a higher education institution anywhere in the world offering RIBA-validated courses.

The award is funded by the Annie Spink Memorial Trust, bequeathed to the RIBA for the 'advancement of architectural education' by the estate of architect Herbert Spink FRIBA (1877-1967) as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie (1868-1938).

RIBA Annie Spink Award winners

2018: Murray Fraser

2016: Christine Hawley

2014: Florian Beigel

2012: Nigel Coates

2010: Dean Hawkes

2008: Andrew MacMillan and Isi Metzstein (joint award)

2006: Dalibor Vesely

2004: Peter Salter and Wolf Prix (shared award)

2002: Peter Cook and David Greene (joint award)

2000: Elia Zenghelis

Eligibility criteria

  • The nominee(s) must have made a substantial contribution to architectural education over a significant number of years in a higher education institution offering RIBA validated courses
  • The nominee(s) do not need to be RIBA members; however, preference will be given to nominees who are RIBA members
  • The award can be made to an individual or to a group of individuals
  • The nominee(s) must have played a significant role in implementing and developing innovative and rigorous processes of teaching and learning within the context of architectural education
  • Nominations can be made by third parties or by the nominees themselves
  • The following are not eligible to receive the award: RIBA employees involved in managing the award and their close family members, the current RIBA President, the current RIBA Vice President Education, and the current RIBA Annie Spink Award judges

Nomination documents

  • Curriculum Vitae with full details of architecture subjects or programmes taught by the nominee
  • Statement of eligibility demonstrating how the nominee(s) meet(s) the nomination criteria (on one A4 page only)
  • Up to 6 letters of support from current and/or former employers and work colleagues who have worked closely with the nominee(s)
  • Between 4 and 10 letters of support from former students taught by the nominee(s)
  • As supporting information, any documents or materials deemed relevant for the nomination, such as published books or articles authored by the nominee(s), photographs, films, etc

For further information about this award, please contact John-Paul Nunes.

keyboard_arrow_up To top